My approach

  • I follow a biopsychosocial approach to physiotherapy.
  • This helps me understand your health thoroughly by taking into account the complex interaction of factors that might be contributing to your pain.
  • The diagram gives an outline of some of these factors. Everyone is unique and so not all the components will be relevant to you, but by considering those that are relevant, we can work together towards overcoming your pain.

Qualifications and training

  • I graduated from Glasgow Caledonian University in 1999 with a BSc (hons) in Physiotherapy.
  • I started my physiotherapy career at the Royal Alexandra Hospital, Paisley, before moving to London in 2001.
  • Since living in London, I’ve participated and experienced many different working situations within the NHS, private sector and in academia. I spent most of my junior working career between Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospitals.
  • More recently, I’ve spent many years working at the Royal Free Hospital in Hampstead in both clinical and managerial positions.
  • During my 16 years of working, I’ve gained experience in musculoskeletal out-patient physiotherapy clinics, treating a huge variety of painful conditions and a vast number of people. Through my work as an extended-scope practitioner in both primary and secondary care I’ve also gained a good understanding of x-rays, scans, blood tests and referrals for surgery.
  • In 2009, I completed an MSc in Advanced Neuromusculoskeletal Physiotherapy at Kings College London, which has enabled me to further refine and build on my clinical skills and knowledge.
  • I regularly attend training courses, join webinars and listen to podcasts. My most recent interest is learning more about how diet can affect pain.
  • I’ve also been involved in several research projects, on topics such as shoulder pain and post-surgical pain.
Glasgow Caledonian University
Kings College London

On a more personal note, I practice what I preach, and I believe in all the benefits that being active and mindful brings. When I am not working, I try to spend as much time as possible outdoors going for daily walks with my husband, Kris and golden retriever, Obi.

On a more weekly basis I enjoy running and cycling around Richmond Park or along the Thames towpath and I try to do as much yoga as I can. I find yoga is not only of great physical benefit to me but is also of great benefit to my mind helping me to ‘get out of my head’ and reduce stress.  I thoroughly enjoy spending time with friends and family and consider nothing better than cooking something tasty and then eating it with them.

Over the last couple of years, I have taken up gardening with mixed success and in usual circumstances I also like to travel.  I have had the privilege of visiting many great places and seeing many amazing sites and I am looking forward to being able to travel freely again.